Problem with webm

Here's the place to discuss anything about Media Preview in English.
bitwyse
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:23 am

Re: Problem with webm

Post by bitwyse » Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:32 am

Well, I like Media Preview. I did find an alternative but it requires .NET framewok 4 - and I refuse to install this (what we call in French) "usine à gaz" - (enormous gas factory). So I found a workaraound.
Any webm I download which uses VP9 I rename to webmv (which is not activated in Media Preview). (Webm with VP8 works fine.)
If I really want a webm with VP9 to display an image I run it through X-media Recode to convert it to VP8.
This is the ONLY change I make: so it only takes about 4 minutes for a 40MB video and there is no noticeable quality loss.
Regards

BabelSoft
Site Admin
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Problem with webm

Post by BabelSoft » Tue Jun 02, 2020 6:08 pm

Thanks for going to such lengths to keep on using Media Preview :)
It's quite heartening to see somebody being that much fond of your creation.

I'll try to take a look at this webm issue but really no promises here...

bitwyse
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:23 am

Re: Problem with webm

Post by bitwyse » Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:03 am

It works perfectly, the interface is clear, it doesn't eat processor time...
That's more that you can say for many other programs now! I try and uninstall more than I keep.
I'm a programmer myself and I'm still using programmes I wrote over 20 years ago!
When you've got something good, keep it!
Best regards

Post Reply